An update on my life

Dear friends,

After my vassa with my dad, I was till (quite deliberately) at a loose end. With no plan in mind, I went to Sydney where, after a couple of days, a voice from the gods (a metaphor voice, if you’re wondering) spoke to me and said, “Go to Bodhinyana!” So I did, and here I am.

It’s lovely to be back and staying with the monks here again. The bush is thin and scrappy, just how it should be; and the kangaroos are, if possible, brassier than ever.

I’m enjoying my between-time, and the monks here are pretty together, so there’s not much for me to do. I’ve been helping out with a little teaching here and there, and spending a lot of time in my kuti practicing. To satisfy my scholarly bent, I’ve been working with the Suttacentral team on an updated version of our Sutta correspondence site. You’ll see the shiny new version soon.

I have started thinking about next year, and I’d like to get back to Sydney regularly. I’m thinking, maybe spend 10 days a month in Sydney giving teachings and so on, and the remainder of the month here. We’ll see.

I’m also looking to get back to some more regular blogging, so hopefully you’ll see a few more articles coming up.

24 thoughts on “An update on my life

  1. Great to hear from you bhante, When you are ready please let us know if there is anything we can do to get a regular meeting group going in Sydney next year.

  2. Good ol’ Bodhinyana to fall back on – where would we be without it….. but I’m not sure its big enough for both you & AB.

    The smart money seems to be on you ending up in Malaysia with your connections – both family & institutional.

    Be interesting to see how it pans out….

    Good to see you back on the blog

    cheers

    Geoff

  3. Forget Malaysia please! There is a greater need in Queensland, especially the Sunshine Coast. Just hoping!

  4. Dear Ajahn Sujato,

    Glad to see you back blogging. Khun Veera, Ajahn Chatchai’s Kapiya, has asked about the latest developments on your whereabouts. We, in Thailand, hope to see you one day. I’ll be more than happy to be your interpreter if your Thai gets a bit rusty. :-)

    And I’m particularly glad that you may choose Bodhinyana as your homeport. I hope to pay respect to you in person in April.

    With great respect,

    Dheerayupa

  5. Dear Bhante,

    Nice to hear from you again.

    S.H just found the tip from you yesterday. A bit slow, had been distracted with so many things.
    Appreciate the tip. Hope is getting brighter soon.

    Much metta

  6. Dear Bhante Sujato,

    On the Suttacentral website all the links to the Pali texts seem to be dead (Forbidden). Could this be fixed somehow?

    Thanks,

    Roni

  7. Dear Bhante,
    It is nice to hear you and think of you at beautiful Bodhinyana. Bhante Brahm was in Toronto for three days at the Vihara of a wonderful Sri Lankan Sangha/community. The retreat did me a world of good and I was delighted to find a community both warm and friendly and serious about meditation, Sutta and Pali studies!
    Bhante Sujato, now that you will be continuing to blog, which is much appreciated, is there a way that disrespectful comments can be moderated? Can we establish perhaps a zero tolerance policy at the outset so that people who rant and tirade including disparaging others, know that their disparaging, comments will simply removed without a debate? Could this be eased by setting the parameters somewhere very obvious on your site? The disparaging comments above regarding Sister Yeshe who does not even live at Santi but alone in a poor, hot, lower caste community on the other side of the world are appalling and I would like to ask that they please be removed.
    We can be compassionate to others – and- I feel that we can be most compassionate by raising the bar, raising each other up. I would support you entirely to simply remove disparaging comments, according to guidelines offered and I sense most others would feel the same.
    Unfortunately that is more work for you but perhaps in time we can raise the quality of our collective participation?
    The quality of the time, the research and the knowledge you invest in this blog merits the most respectful discourse and participation and maybe there is a way to keep encouraging that.
    I for one need to spend more care reading your excellent work and commenting on the substance of your contribution rather than the titles, for example :-) I can also refrain from taking the discussion towards a complete digression. When I read through your posts, and there is something I do not know or understand, I can go and look it up, read the links you have recommended and I can read the Suttas you refer us to and take it for reflection.
    Heart of gratitude for this regular opportunity for us to learn and be inspired.
    Love the idea of you spending time in the city – when I was at Santi and the children of your followers came- teenagers and youth – I could see they totally resonated with your way of teaching. I think you’d be a fantastic University professor but “street” Dharma in the heart of the community good too!
    All the best, Dear Bhante, a deep bow _/\_

  8. (Ah, I see the parameters clearly stated in the About section. So perhaps it is a matter of time. Thanks again, Bhante, for all your work on this blog, making it available to all of us for developing our knowledge and our sense of internatonal community) _/\_

  9. Dear Bhante,

    Though it is stated in the regulations, but I still would like to support Lisa’s comments. I remember Ajahn Brahm’s comment about being kind to all beings equally, so not firing a bad employee is in fact being unkind to all other employees.

    Likewise, as most of us, if not all, are not yet enlightened and some can get easily irritated by unwholesome things, it is better, in my humble opinion, to keep this place pure. This doesn’t mean that we don’t tolerate disagreement, but a respectful debate is healthy for development of any kind.

    We have seen enough unwholesome things in our daily life, may we see this blog as a place to help cultivate our spiritual growth.

    With respect,

    Dheerayupa

  10. Hi Roni,

    Thanks for noticing! Actually, the problem is with the source we use for SuutaCentral, the Dhamma Society’s World Tipitaka. The entire network of sites has been down for several months. They say they have been hacked, and will restore service ASAP. Meanwhile, however, SuttaCentral is looking at other options, including hosting our own version of the Pali texts.

  11. Dear Dheerayupa and Lisa,

    Thanks you for your support, and I have removed the recent offensive comments.

    I do hope that this blog can remain as a safe and friendly place for those interested in Dhamma to meet people from far away lands and discuss, to feel free to express opinions, and to ask questions (and occasionally even get an answer!). I encourage all the readers to reflect on this and to try to make all contributions as clear, loving, and respectful as possible; remembering, too, that respect means respect for differences, and an ability to tolerate and engage in reasoned criticism. I also recognize that it is my responsibility as both moderator and writer to set a good example, and to actively keep things going well.

    As all of us know, there are vast amounts of insulting, stupid, and deranged commentary on the web. There is no need to engage with this level of discourse; it is better to just ignore it. Don’t feed the trolls! We have to bear in mind that what people express comes out of their minds; and if that’s what is inside their minds, it must be a lot of suffering. From a perspective of compassion, we’d love to be able to help; but from a perspective of wisdom, you can’t solve that depth of confusion by arguing with someone on a blog.

  12. Don’t feed the trolls!

    Quite agree. You don’t want to lose control of the discussion.

    From a perspective of compassion, we’d love to be able to help; but from a perspective of wisdom, you can’t solve that depth of confusion by arguing with someone on a blog.

    What a beautiful way of close down a discussion…. or not even starting one.

  13. Bodhiyana is definitely big enough for you and Ajahn Brahm…
    Its like saying one heart is not big enough to love two.
    We LOVE you….
    Stay till you get another calling…

  14. We are so pleased that you are considering spending some time in Sydney. We have missed your Dhamma talks and meditation which used to inspire us to move forward in the Dhamma in conjunction with our daily lives.

  15. If you click on the flags (at the right) it works. I clicked on the British flag and got an English version of MN 76 (as an example of something that works)

Leave a Reply

