Announcing Early Buddhism Course

Dear friends, I’d like to let you know about a course I will be teaching in Sydney in the coming months. It is a series of six day-long workshops on Early Buddhism. I believe it is the first such course offered in Australia. The course will combine teachings, meditations, and discussions. It will give students the chance to gain a broad understanding of Dhamma as taught by the Buddha, as uncovered by historical inquiry.

The course will require registration, and there is a $60 fee to cover the costs of the Buddhist Library. Teachings, of course, are freely offered.

The course will begin on February 17.

Any questions about the course, please leave in the comments.

Registration at the Buddhist Library, Camperdown

Course details (pdf)

In addition to this course, I will be resuming a number of sessions in Sydney, starting next week, including Friday night at Well-Aware-Ness, Baulkham Hills on Saturdays, and Parramatta (new venue) on Saturday afternoon. For up-to-date details and dates, check the calendar under the link at the top of this blog. Note that I will be in Sydney only for ten days/month, so these will not be weekly sessions as before!

18 thoughts on “Announcing Early Buddhism Course

  1. Bhante,

    Any chance this will be recorded either audio or video? I’d be willing to pay the fee for recordings.

    Very grateful for you to be teaching again.
    Thanks,
    Marc

  2. I’m very jealous of the people that can attend this course (yeah i know jealousy is bad)! I hope there will atleast some documentation of this (videos perhaps)?

    with metta,

    Gotamist

  3. Sounds great Bhante and yes, recording it would be much appreciated. BTW, Patrick Kearney offered a number of 6 week sutta study groups, Thus Have I Heard at the Buddhist Library, available still on his website.

    • Dear Ayya and Bhante,
      I am not familiar with available technology but I did participate in Venerable Analayo’s web-based seminar in 2012 through Hamburg Uni and it was wonderful – much more personal and accessible than I expected a web seminar to be – with Venerble A. livestreaming, while his text is also visible on the screen and a chat box on the side for students to ask questions and make comments. It worked so well and opened the Venerable’s teachings to participants from all over the world. I, too, hope that Bhante Sujato will consider something like this in the future. _/\_

  4. Bhante, let me echo the hope that you can videotape the sessions as well as provide course materials. This would be a great help and use. I’m at the University of the West in LA and they have courses on early Buddhism, but not from the perspective of someone who is a practitioner as well as a scholar.

    • Okay, Alan, I will see what we can do. Meanwhile, I’d be interested to know what Early Buddhism courses are happening there in LA or elsewehere–do you have any details or resources you can share?

  5. Sujato

    I too hope it can be videoed and put on Dahmmanet would be happy to contribute to any cost involved.

    Regards

    David

  6. Hi Bhante,

    I was wondering what age group usually attends the youth group at Baulkham Hills. I’m eighteen; is that considered youth in this case? It’s very hard to find anyone my age and in the Hills area who is interested in the dhamma!

    With metta,
    James.

  7. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you
    relied on the video to make your point. You clearly
    know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us
    something informative to read?

Leave a Reply

